Sharing Some Borrowed Hope

 
 Every now and again, a little diddy will come across my desk that grabs me from the inside out.
 
Borrowed Hope has been around the internet a while, often reposted as a staple share of encouragement and well, hope.
 
Many sources list the author as “Unknown” but a site that takes its name from the first line’s plea, Lend Me Your Hope, identifies the author as Eloise Cole.
Eloise was an everyday gal with a true hero’s heart, taking her life of tragedy and becoming a beacon of hope to countless others.
 
You can read her  testimony of enduring strength for life here.   It is well worth the time to read. 
 
Eloise’s words of hope still spread their wings across the web, in her brave and honest poem, Borrowed Hope.
 
If this is you, where ever you are, and you are weary, you don’t need to  hang on by yourself; never hesitate to reach out and borrow some hope.

Borrowed Hope

by Eloise Cole

Lend me your hope for a while,

I seem to have mislaid mine.

Lost and hopeless feelings accompany me daily.

Pain and confusion are my companions.

I know not where to turn.

Looking ahead to the future times

Does not bring forth images of renewed hope.

I see mirthless times, pain-filled days, and more tragedy.

Lend me your hope for a while,

I seem to have mislaid mine.

Hold my hand and hug me,

Listen to all my ramblings.

I need to unleash the pain and let it tumble out.

Recovery seems so far and distant,

The road to healing, a long and lonely one.

Stand by me. Offer me your presence,

Your ears and your love.

Acknowledge my pain, it is so real and ever present.

I am overwhelmed with sad and conflicting thoughts.

Lend me your hope for a while.

A time will come when I will heal,

And I will lend my renewed hope to others

I use to be quit the poem writer way back in high school.. (way  back)

Most likely,  it came out of  an adolescent  endevor of trying to find my “me” and any reasonable purpose for being here.

The poems were all quite, solem, some went beyond solem to just simply dark.

Others, inspite of my very unbalanced, pubescent dreary outlook, wrote of the belief in a happy place, far far away and shared snippets of hope at the thought of someday finding the roadmap to that place.

Aside from those few, the poems were autrocious.  Period.

I know I still have my little faux- leather bound journal somewhere in a box, maybe I’ll dig them out for you sometime, if you dare.

What about you?

Do you have a little tattered faux-leather bound book somewhere filled with words of light and encouragement?

Maybe you have a poem that has become your favorite.  Its written in your heart, and you pull it out of its safe place whenever the road gets rocky.

Share with us. Please.

It may become someone elses favorite also.

For more thoughts and quotes on  hope take the time to peruse:

100 Hope Quotes  and 100 More Fabulous Hope Quotes

Leave a Reply

