LYING~ Never & Always Not the Worst Thing EVER

 

 

“Teachers often teach that which they need to learn themselves.
I am no different.
I am writing this book first and foremost for myself.
I desire a wholesome tongue,
one that always learns to speak what is pleasing to God.

I have learned what James the brother of Jesus,
meant when he said
“No man can tame the tongue”

Oh, Deborah, I think you and I are two peas in a pod with the same heart.

Deborah Smith Pegues, has written a book called  “30 Days to Taming Your Tongue“.

The cover reminds me that “What You Say (and Don’t Say) Will Improve Your Relationships”

I’m giving you 30 days, girlie!  Throwing myself at your mercy, TRANSFORM MY MOUTH and ROCK MY WORLD.

And YOU my beloved bloggies, get to join me!

Lets not wait another day.
Who knows what damage these ol tongue of ours could do, if we don’t get them under control ASAP.

Day 1~ Liar, Liar, Pants on Fire!

 

The Lord detests lying lips,

But delights in men who are truthful

Proverbs 12:22

Well, we certainly jumped into this with a bang!
No messing around with Deborah Pegues!

Deceitfulness, Half-Truths and Exaggerating all get exposed in Day 1.

Certainly, we are all in agreement that deceit and half-truths (aka.. little white lies) are an obvious no-no

But YES and WOW!
Exaggerating, also,  falls into the same category as LYING and DECEIVING.

Deborah writes:

The paradox of exaggerating; a person stretches the truth to make something sound more believable, but then loses credibility because he exaggerates.

Exaggerating can come from the need to be the center of attention.

Favorite exaggerations include; “everybody”, “nobody”, “never”, “always”.

I can hear myself already.

Joanne’s  personal favorite exaggerations;  “gazillion and kabillion”

Really, do I even know how many a “gazillion” is?
And if it was, could I count it to be accurate?

Revelation 21:18 reminds us that God has sealed the fate of every liar:

All liars shall have their part in the lake that burns with fire and brimstone,
which is the second death

Does this sounds extremely harsh to you?

I strongly doubt God is lying.

Actually this would be a great place to but a very confident NEVER!

God NEVER lies, or exaggerates, deceives, or tells half-truths.

That is why those of us who are His representatives here on earth, must never be lying, deceiving, or exaggerating.

I had never thought of exaggerating with quite so much conviction before now, but I see it.

Satan, our enemy, the destroyer and murderer, is the Father of Lies.

If we are telling Lies (white or any other color) we are reflecting and representing him, not our God, the God who IS TRUTH!

Not this chickie. With God’s grace, not anymore!
No exaggeration or moment of attention is worth PAYING THAT COST.

Father,

In the name of Jesus,

I ask you to set a seal over my mouth that I will not sin against you.

I ask that your wonderful Holy Spirit continue to reveal to me, and to everyone with me, where we need to tame our tongues.

Speak to us areas in our life where we need to change, and continue to extend your grace so we become transformed more and more into your image.

And we are confident that as we confess these areas, you are faithful to forgive us.

We choose to use our mouths to give you all the praise and the glory..

Amen,

So be it.

If your brave enough to do this 30 day journey with me, you can grab yourself a copy of Deborah Smith Pegues’s “30 Days to Taming Your Tongue” and the accompanying workbook at her website HERE

What do you think?

** So if a “kabillion” is an exaggeration, what about words like “unbelievable” or “mind-blowing”?

** Do words like these also dance on the edge of extreme?

** Are there other words, which would fall into this category?  What do you think qualifies as ‘exaggeration’?

** Do you have your favorites that you will be giving up, or would be  too hard to give up?

Leave a Reply

