Hope for More than Just Surviving

“Just surviving” is a real place.
If you are finding yourself in that place where you are “trying to survive”, take heart, its ok.

If all you can do is get both feet out of the bed and onto the floor; you are already there.

You already are a survivor.

Sometimes, surviving is a breath at a time, and that, my friend, is ok,  too.

You qualify. You are a survivor.
Moment by moment, you are doing it.

You are surviving and that, in itself, is victory.

For all of us “survivors”,  that is why this blog is here.

It is here to give you a little something to hold, a little seed to grow.
It is here to get your next step in front of you and to give you strength for this moment.

Julie Oehme, from Milwaukee, Wisconsin, wants to give something also.
She lovingly dedicated her original song  “Survive”  to
all of those who have survived seemingly unbearable circumstances, battled illness, lost a loved one, or who have simply been courageous enough to hold onto hope.

The muffled prayers that so often clamored in the belly of my darkest moments, Julie has now given  words and brought them into the light~

“I don’t want to feel dead in the water.
I don’t want to feel like I haven’t arrived.
I don’t want to feel like I sleep walk through my days,
Cause I know that I’m more than what I survive.
I’m more than what I survive.

I don’t want to feel the weight of it all,
But it’s the only way to know
Where my story peaks and where it falls…”

Julie shared with me the a conversation with a friend that was the start to this potent song~

‘ she has been through more in her 30 years than most people her age and she sits with a lot of weight on her chest.
She was describing to me how when she looks back, she feels like all she sees is all of the horrible things she’s endured, and very seldom can she separate those dark moments from those that shine.

Even more painful is that fact that she refuses to FEEL the pain of these things – its easier to tuck them away and ignore them, than to actually deal with them.

We talked about how actually FEELING these emotions are the first step towards dealing with them (this is there the opening line of the song comes from), but getting to that point is difficult.

We talked about the pain of feeling like we’re going through the motions in life – sleepwalking through – and that life is so much more rewarding if we are willing to feel everything it brings us.

At the end of the day, when we realize that we are more than simply what we have survived, life is infinitely more beautiful.

There are so many more thoughts that went into the writing of the song and so many different people I think about when I sing it, but that is the general place the story was born of.”

There is no way I could ever say it better than that, Jewels.   Bravo.
Only  to say  “Amen”, its true.   It is absolutely true.

From one who  finally feels she is starting to look  back from “the otherside”, it is true.

There is so much more to who we are, our worth and our future then the pain of the past, or/and the pain of your now.

So if you are holding on to hope right now.
Then hold tight.

Take this moment, listen to Julie share her heart, soak it in, gather some strength and hold tight.

Your time is coming.

 

To get to know more about Julie Oehme and that power-house voice; visit her on
MY SPACE

To hear that power-house voice in person; find Julie’s next live appearance HERE

 

Survive

In the moment when I finally feel the burden
Of everything that’s been done,
Is when in my heart I know for certain
That the battle is half won.
There’s enough of this cruel world’s riches left for me,
And I know this life can be extraordinary
If I choose to let it be.

I don’t want to feel dead in the water.
I don’t want to feel like I haven’t arrived.
I don’t want to feel like I sleep walk through my days,
Cause I know that I’m more than what I survive.
I’m more than what I survive.

No one ever said that deafening silence
Would be easy on the ears.
And there’s a pain that comes with quiet defiance
Be it for moments or be it for years.
There’s a patience in the wake of knowing
It’s the journey we should feel.
And every little bit is a part of growing,
Of knowing when to turn and how to deal.

I don’t want to feel dead in the water.
I don’t want to feel like I haven’t arrived.
I don’t want to feel like I sleep walk through my days,
Cause I know that I’m more than what I survive.
I’m more than what I survive.

I don’t want to feel the weight of it all,
But it’s the only way to know
Where my story peaks and where it falls…

I don’t want to feel dead in the water.
I don’t want to feel like I haven’t arrived.
I don’t want to feel like I sleep walk through my days,
Cause I know that I’m more than what I survive.
I’m more than what I survive.
I’m so much more than what I survive.

(Copyright 2010 Julie Oehme)

Leave a Reply

