Christmas Presence & Christmas Presents~ Let’s see you top this one Santa!

 

Being a single mom on a lower income, I had become accustom to receiving a Christmas grocery hamper every year to help us squeak thru December with all its extra festive frills.
 

 

But it had been growing strong in my heart that I needed to take a stand against that mediocrity monster and put my faith foot down in this area of my life.
 
So this Christmas, with a  big deep breath, I stomped.
 
For too long I had been living with a “poor-me”victim mentality; and I knew it. I had put more confidence in the provision of the world than the provision of God’s word and my Father’s heart.
 
After all, look at what God said His promise is for me (and you) ~

Therefore do not worry and be anxious, saying, What are we going to have to eat? or, What are we going to have to drink? or, What are we going to have to wear? For the Gentiles (heathen) wish for and crave and diligently seek all these things, and your heavenly Father knows well that you need them all. Mt 6:31,32

And my God will liberally supply (fill to the full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus. Phil 4:19

If you then, evil as you are, know how to give good and advantageous gifts to your children, how much more will your Father Who is in heaven [perfect as He is] give good and advantageous things to those who keep on asking Him! Mt 7:11

The young lions lack food and suffer hunger, but they who seek (inquire of and require) the Lord [by right of their need and on the authority of His Word], none of them shall lack any beneficial thing. Psalm 34:10

I have been young and now am old, yet have I not seen the [uncompromisingly] righteous forsaken or their seed begging bread.Ps 37:25

Do you see what I saw?
Can you see where I began to grab my hope?

Begging bread?  I can’t imagine anything that screams  “food hamper” in Old Testament vernacular better than “begging bread”, can you?

What about “Every need”  and “Any good thing”?
Surely, I would think,  groceries and food in our belly  met those qualifiers as well,   wouldn’t you?

The word was right there  infront of me. Plain as black on white.

Would it really be too hard to believe God for some supernatural shazam in my cupboard?

Did I really believe the Word as the Word and God as God?

Or did this promise somehow slip into that, “not for me” category?

Time was slippin away and so were the dollars in my bank account,
I had to make a choice.

I chose to BELIEVE.

I did, and He did;  SUPER ABUNDANTLY beyond what I could ask or think

This is my miracle  of God’s beautiful Christmas presence
and Christmas presents.

It is my testimony of  what I did so you can do it too.

Through spending  time in prayer, I knew that if I was to see His promises  perfected in my life I would have to  turn from areas where I was struggling with doubt.

No need or time to spend dissecting the “why” I was doubting , Christmas was  catching up,  I just needed to start un-doing my doubting.

Lord , in the name of Jesus, I repent and turn from an attitude of lack.
I renounce doubt and fear, and ask for forgiveness for believing the lie that you would not provide all my family needs.
You own the cattle on a thousand hills. You are my source. You are my shepherd and I do not want. I have never seen the righteous forsaken or his seed begging bread.
And that includes me.
I am an joint heir with Jesus. I am the seed of Abraham, I am the seed of the righteous and your word tells me that I am a lender not a borrower!

I am the head and not the tail.
Lord, you desire to bless your children. You desire to take care of your children. Christmas is a time, of celebrating your goodness.
Christmas is the time we celebrate you coming to earth to provide a way where there seemed to be no way.

Lord we will see your goodness in the land of the living!  You have promised it, and I thank you for the goodness this family will see.
Thank you in advance for all you are going to do, and I will give you all the glory.
In Jesus name… amen

The kids and I stirred up our boldness and started to declare to ourselves and all the spiritual ears around us  that this would be the BEST CHRISTMAS EVER!

We put our agreement together, standing on His word.

OH we were starting to fire each other up.
‘THANK YOU JESUS for the best Christmas ever!” We tried to out holler each other.

In addition to  counting on our needs be supernaturally meet, I felt I needed to leap higher and wilder.
Afterall, If your going to leap, you might as well LLLEEEEEAAAAPPPP!!

I told  mom, who traditionally hosts Christmas dinner, that this year I was going to provide the turkey.
That this year I was going to bring the biggest turkey I could find. I wanted lots of left overs to send home with my daughter and my brothers family.

GIVE.. GIVE.. GIVE…
BLESS… BLESS …BLESS…
SOW… SOW… SOW….

EAT.. EAT… EAT…
YUM… YUM… YUM…

The Goodness Fell~ KABOOM…

In that month, the supernatural  goodness and funness of God descended on the Smith house… with a boom.

3 big boxes came thru my door.

The first filled with beef, not just ground or round but SIRLOIN STEAK,  cheesy perogies (for all my non-Canuck friends who don’t know what a perogie is, imagine a little cheesy blob from heaven coming to earth to swim in sour cream and onions) and cookies to chase it all down with.

The second box  assembled in full holiday fashion,  twinkly red paper with a great big bow, showed up in my freezer.
Inside were pork tenderloins, bacon, sausage and a smaller turkey. Three boxes of chocolates and $50 for each kiddo completed that delivery.

The third package was a very large gift bag splitting at the seems with all the fun goodies; chocolate, crackers, chips,  candy, a box of mandarin oranges, and a $20 gift certificate.

So Joanne, what exactly did you and your big hungry family eat on the Christmas day?

The turkey in the pretty red box, is still in the freezer waiting for his special evening.
He didn’t get invited to Christmas dinner.

Only a turkey too big to fit in Gramma’s roaster would do for this Yuletide miracle.

And what a scrumptious, butter infused, Grade A , finger licking delectable 17 lb. miracle he was!

The miracle I only ended up paying  a whopping FIFTY FOUR CENTS!
Yes FIFTY FOUR CENTS!

From November to December, I became supernaturally swamped with Turkey Bucks for the local grocery store TURKEY  BUCK promotion.

Turkey bucks abound! I found them on my desk. I found them in my pockets.
They were everywhere.
My children even had complete strangers  handing them over!
And when all the turkey bucks were redeemed our miracle turkey totaled less than a dollar.

Everyone ate exceedingly above all they could think or imagine and yes, everyone went home with Tupperware containers OVERFLOWING.

For all you believing for miracles.  Believe it.

For all you wrestling with believing for miracles. Just believe it.

His promises are YES and AMEN and that means for you too.

Yes, you can ask for everyday miracles, every day.
Not just Christmas.

And yes, you can have them, everyday.

I believe it!

It is happening to the Smith family in armpit Canada  all the time.

I just  read a quote from CS Lewis that was brilliant~

If we think that miracles are normal, we will expect them.
And expecting a miracle is the surest way to get one

Now that is one cool thought, what do you think?

We are now believing for the BEST JANUARY EVER!!

SantaClauseWorshippingBabyJesus

7 Responses

  1. Wow yes you can and you did,[bless me].This post was just what I need to hear,I too am fighting,to get back into a posture of faith,concerning my grown children.For years I just trusted them to come into the Kingdom[fully],as I saw to the house of the Lord.Then in 08,every thing began to crumble,to long a story to tell here.The word was on the spot,thank you,and please pray for my daughters.

  2. Cheryl,

    I am praying for your girls right now!!
    Your comment really touched my mommy heart.
    Your girls are going to remember your witness and how you stood faithfully for the kingdom. And it will move them close to Him.
    He’s got them so close to His side, because that’s what a good daddy does.

    And what a good daddy we have!!!

    I would love to hear your testimony when you have more time.
    You got me curious!

  3. I’m was so blessed reading this posting. My family and I are in need and we are believing God! Thank you for reminding me that We are included in his promises. We are speaking and believing this will be one of the best years ever!

    • Carla! I will absolutely agree with you that this is going to be the best Christmas your family has ever seen! There will be alot of laughing, and healing and peace. There will be the perfect gifts for everyone- gifts that minister to the deepest longing of each of your hearts. Gifts that- no matter how simple or unusual they may appear on the outside- will make the recipient KNOW that God is passionately interested in them. And that God is a daddy who wants to BLESS!
      Not only will your family be blessed with such a sweet touch this year, but your family will be a incredible blessing to those around you and to those who need to know Him. God is going to give you a testimony to love and encourage others with.

      All in all, when January 1st comes around, my dear friend, you will curl up one quiet night, and look back at his mercy and faithfulness and KNOW that your Daddy God longs to draw you in and show Himself strong and faithful to you.
      Thank you so much for sharing your story and popping by my blog, Carla. You’re in my thoughts today.
      Please keep in touch

      Joanne

      • Thank you so much….I’m in tears reading your response…..I feel so encouraged. We are really having a rough time especially now but I just know that God …(our daddy) is going to supply all of our needs. Again thank you for reminding me that we are included in his promises because we are the children of the most high God. I can’t wait to share with you my testimony! I believe a breakthrough is near.

      • Thank you so much….I’m in tears reading your response…..I feel so encouraged. We are really having a rough time especially now but I just know that God …(our daddy) is going to supply all of our needs. Again thank you for reminding me that we are included in his promises because we are the children of the most high God. I can’t wait to share with you my testimony! I believe a breakthrough is near.

      • Carla, I’m running a contest on my other blog http://www.turnkei.net. I’d love for you to take part.
        Its a simple survey then your name’s put in for a draw before Christmas.

        This is the link
        http://www.yourturnkei.net/super-parent-survey-start/

Leave a Reply

