Excerpts from CHAPTER 1

Excerpts from CHAPTER 1

There is a moment in John 21 when Jesus looked Peter in the eyes,
and asked him several times “Peter, do you love me?”
There has been many a moment when Jesus, has sat me down,
looked at me with those same big beautiful eyes and asked,
probably in a similar tone, “Joanne, do you believe me?”

Just like Peter, I would respond,
most likely with the same over confident tone… “Of course LORD!!!”
As with Peter, He’d graciously ask a second time,
looking more intently into me…”Joanne, do you believe me?”
Like Peter, I’d reply a second time,” course Lord,”

Oh how those words have haunted my soul so often.
It’s a question that I wonder if I can truly answer.
Do I?
Do I really believe Him?

Finally, like Peter, I answer, confidence fleeting, as the words cross my lips,
“Lord you know all things… you know I do”


****************************************************


There are days, most days perhaps,
when the bombardment will be relentless.
Satan, the enemy, whose purpose is to kill steal and destroy, the Father of all lies,
will be sitting on your shoulder, shouting in your ear.
Don’t believe THAT. Don’t trust HIM!

More than anything Satan wants to disillusion your opinion of God’s word.
Satan’s biggest lie yet, to the world, is that God did not mean what He said,
and that God will not do what He said.

The only weapon he has against us is the lie and the strategy of deception.
We defeat lies with Truth.

There will be many; many moments when you own intellect
will give you an endless list of legitimate reasons.
Logic, and understanding, yours and of course others, will try to negate your faith.
Your eyes will see only this physical world.
There will be times when everything will rise up against that faith,
everything in your flesh will scream and writhe.
Your mind will reject it.
You will think of every reason that it is not possible.
“Not this time, Lord. Certainly, not for me…”

 

************************************************

The truth was, I could not take my eyes off of myself and place them on other people.
I needed to know that I was going to be ok.
Call it primal instinct, primitive self-preservation.
Whatever it was, I was guilty as charged.

My thoughts and motives, as shameful as it is to say, were all about me and mine.
I was so preoccupied with me and my world that no one else’s existed.
I tried just pushing it to the side.

I knew my attitude was wrong, but it just overwhelmed me,
my stuff was always foremost in my mind.
As hard as I tried, it would just weasel its way back into the front of my thinking.

To be able to look beyond myself, so I could see all the others in front of me.
I needed some solid guarantees.

To be free of this, I needed to know that there were answers to my worries and prayer.
And that my “stuff’ was going to be “just fine”.

If I had that, maybe, I could rest my poor fretting self.


***************************************************

Leave a Reply

